Reality Update: Keep Dreaming Keep on Biking

Reality update! Life…time? I don’t know, it’s been a while. First off, for those who didn’t know, I just got done with a Skype Interview with a company that teaches English in Japan. I believe the interview went well. I thought I was going to actually conduct my lesson with two “makeshift” students on the camera, but thankfully, I only had to demonstrate a little bit of it, and explain what I would going to do. It felt more of a “Q&A” than an interview. Sure, they asked me why I wanted to work there and what experience do I have related to the field, but I’ve already done that like 3 times over it’s pretty much ingrained in me (as if 3 years of volunteer experience and going to Japan being a part time English tutor didn’t already do that :P). I’m glad that I had some questions prepped for them, and they pretty much answered all of them. They also suggested some things I can work on and whatnot, and it’s good to hear some advice like that. I’ve been so out of the game, it’s comforting (in a way) to hear some feedback and improve on something I know I can do. All in all, I think it was a pretty neat experience, for my first Skype interview :)  Relating to if I will get the job, I won’t know about that in 1-2 weeks soooo more waiting x.x but I expected it. Gotta keep my head high and, like a certain fish said, “just keep swimming.” :nod:

That Skype interview was pretty much the most interesting thing I had going on…:saddummy:  Just keeping on working, trying to stay afloat, not go insane, the usual 😛
I did buy my own bike so I can get to work without the need for someone to drive me. Getting a ride is nice, but having to ask for a ride, and the…”complaining” to put it lightly, was driving me up a wall. I have to leave earlier to get to work on time, but at least I work up a good sweat huh? I think I’m actually loosing weight because of it, go figure :ohnoes:  Plus better for the environment right?…Right? xP

Going back to possibly working in Japan, I know there are other jobs than just teaching English. However, I think this is just the easiest, and straightforward path, since I have experience actually teaching Japanese students. A couple of days ago, I mentioned to a woman that I majored in Japanese and whatnot, relating back to Costco (there is a Costco in Japan apparently, and I WANTS TO GOES TO ITZ :ohnoes: :dummy:  ). Paraphrasing what she said, in this globalizing world of ours, I shouldn’t have any trouble finding a hiring paying job or a job that is related to my field. It honestly did make me feel a little better, but it made me think, do I have to broadcast myself out there more? How the heck do I do that? Anybody got any ideas? Wouldn’t being fluent in Japanese be a plus for trying voice acting too? xP I know becoming a voice actor is a long shot, but I think it’ll be an amazing experience to at least try and dabble in it. However, it’s such a niche market still…so the road in becoming a voice actor really isn’t set out there. I’m just trying to get to work in Japan at this point, improve my Japanese, learn a ton of new things, meet new people, hang out with old friends, is that too much to ask for? (Apparently yes  )

Side note, being able to just sit down and play a ton of Fire Emblem Awakening is pretty satisfying xD Especially since I’m masochistic and want to get as many support conversations as I can (it involves a lot of saving a restarting). Buuuuut the writing and dialogue is just too good to pass up. I know I can just look this stuff up on Youtube, but I’d rather earn it and see it on the game myself. I might cop out sooner or later, but for now, this game is definitely worth the hype (if 70 hours on just the 2nd run through isn’t proof enough xD)

Not really good with transitions…I should work on that probably…since that was one of the feedback things I got from the Skype interview….but it’s just easier just to dive right in!…Okay maybe not. I want to try and make more of these entries, since there are a bunch of ideas that get stuck in my head and I’m like “you need to write that down! Just write the darn idea down!” So, if I say it on here, maybe my brain will be like “oh you said it, now you gotta actually write it down, instead of putting it in this metaphorically file cabinet in your brain.” Sooooo look forward to the next entry, because this idea has been in my head for like over 2 months, and I want to get it out! xP Until then, just keep swimming!

Leave a comment