One of Those Odd Brain Projections…

It is rare for anyone to remember what happened in their dreams (well at least it is for me). Considering that we apparently multiple times during our sleep cycles, and considering the possibilities of just super odd dreams, I think it’s good not to remember EVERY single dream. However, there are some dreams that you do manage to remember, and there are some dreams that are too good to pass up. I want to describe one such dream I had last Saturday. I put some notes down about it so I wouldn’t forget. :3

I’ll try to describe the events as they “occurred” in order. First, I ended up being ultra tired. Like so tired, I was barely cognizant. I sat on one of these long, rectangular cushions that you can spread out your legs and have one foot on both sides. I was in that position, with my face in the cushion since I was dead tired. The next thing I know, I’m hearing “Mr. Brightside” by the The Killers (great song btw) playing in the background. The kicker? Someone was playing Rockband to that song! Next thing I know, as the song begins, still in the super tired position, I start air drumming the song. As enthusiatic as I am with Rockband, I air drummed that song like no tomorrow (those hi hats are something to behold in that song).

But wait! It gets more interesting. I hear someone telling me to stop air drumming the song. It wasn’t like a mean “stop that,” it was more of a like “oh you, stop that” playful kind of voice. I look up and there is “M” (I’m calling her that because…well it’s the internet, permission and stuff and, ya know she’s a girl so that’s enough to know). She is actually playing the drums with the drum set that comes with the Rockband games. I think she tried to tell me to stop playing because “I’m too good.”

Then it skips forward to the end of the song, and then I end up air guitar-ing it (rocking it mind you, since I play this game like no tomorrow). And boom! End of the dream. Let’s just say I had to jot some notes about this dream because…it’s just too good to not remember.

Dreams are such an odd phenomenon. There are multiple theories on the purpose of dreams, like they are meant for memory encoding (long-term memory to be precise), or making different “simulations” as to prepare yourself when something like that actually happens. Since there is such a thing called nightmares…well let’s just hope they stay “simulations.” I think we all have dreams we still remember and store in our memories for safekeeping. You don’t know what they exactly mean, but they are a product of your own brain, your imagination, so there is some fascination to them. Of course, there are the types of dreams that you don’t want to end. Those dreams that feel you up with so much happiness, so much ecstasy (don’t use that word often :P) that you wish you could sleep in with those types of dreams, at least for a good day or so.

I wouldn’t say the dream I described is one I would want to live out again. However, if there is one thing this dream has taught me is that the brain remembers the most particular things. From hobbies that you enjoy by yourself and with your friends, to unattainable love interests. I guess in this case, it’s a sort of bittersweet cruelty huh? (or am I just being dramatic? For funsies?…nah thinking too much :D)

Leave a comment